Inuktitut Computing

The UQAILAUT Project

Inuktitut Legacy Fonts

ProSyl, Nunacom and AiPaiNunavik

Download Prosyl and Nunacom

To type in Inuktitut syllabic characters with the legacy (non-Unicode) fonts ProSyl, Nunacom and AiPaiNunavik, all you need to do is to set the font in your application (MS Word, etc. - for input in web pages, this will be set for you) and type in the characters, following the proper keyboard layout for the font (see below). A keyboard layout1 is how the characters are associated to the keys of the keyboard. For example, the inuktitut syllabic character (tu) is associated with the key labelled 'G'. When you have any of those three fonts set as the current font, typing on the key 'G' will print the character in your application.

ProSyl et Nunacom

These two fonts do not need a special keyboard driver2. They use the same driver as regular fonts like Times New Roman. For example, in ProSyl, the code of the character is the combination of the ASCII codes of the two characters ` and t that must be successively typed in order to get it, that is, 0x60 0x74. All syllabic characters in ProSyl and Nunacom are accessible through the regular keyboard driver.

ProSyl and Nunacom have very similar layouts (also very similar to the Unicode Inuktitut Keyboard Layout Levels 1 & 2). For the most part, the basic syllabic characters are associated with the same keys in both fonts. The differences lie mostly with some punctuation marks and with how the dotted (long) syllabic characters are produced. For example, to print the character  in ProSyl, you have to type in the keys labelled ` and W, whereas in Nunacom, you have to type | and W. Of course, you could use any 'dot' key (like ` and |) with any basic syllabic character, but the placement of the dot might not be optimal with that character.

The two following figures show the keyboard layouts for the fonts ProSyl and Nunacom. They also indicate which 'dot' key to use with every short syllabic character to get the corresponding long syllabic character.

Figure 1. Inuktitut Keyboard Layout - ProSyl

Figure 2. Inuktitut Keyboard Layout - Nunacom

AiPaiNunavik

With AiPaiNunavik, one needs a particuler keyboard driver2, Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai), which define the codes to be associated with single and combined keystrokes. For example, to get the same character in AiPaiNunavik, one has to press the Alt key, and while it is pressed down, the t key. This key combination generates the code 0x86. Without this keyboard driver, the code that is generated is 0xFE, which does not correspond to any character in AiPaiNunavik. 

Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai) keyboard driver for Windows

  1. Download this file: nunaviksetup.zip

    This zip file contains the file nunaviksetup.exe which installs on Windows 95, 98, NT4, 2000 ou XP two Inuttitut-Nunavik keyboard drivers, one for Unicode, the other for AiPaiTai, as well as several fonts with the AiPaiTai characters. After you have unzipped this file and extracted nunaviksetup.exe, place it in any directory of your choice and keep the name in mind, because you will have to reach for it soon.

  2. Install the fonts and the drivers

    • Execute nunaviksetup.exe
    • Add the new Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai) driver
      • Open the Keyboard panel (Start/Settings/Control Panel)
      • Go to "Input locales tab"
      • Click on "Add"...
      • Select a language: - 'Norwegian' is a good choice because its two first letters, NO, as very similar to NU (of Nunavik). Make sure that you do not activate "Use default properties for this input locale"
      • Click on OK
      • In the next pop-up dialog, select "Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai)". (if it is not there, you might have to reboot and get back to this step)
      • Click on OK to leave the control panel.

  3. Activate Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai)

    In the icon box at the bottom right of your screen, there is the icon  that indicates the active keyboard driver. When you click on that icon, you get the list of all the keyboard drivers installed on your computer.  Select NO.

         

    This brings you to the first level of the AiPaiNunavik keyboard layout (see 'regular' in the figure below). Pressing the keys Shift, Alt, Alt+Shift will get you to the three additional levels.



Figure 3. Inuktitut Keyboard Layout - AiPaiNunavik

1 Keyboard layout: a keyboard layout is a map that indicates which character one gets in a specific font with single and combined keys.
2 Keyboard driver: a keyboard driver is a software program that associates a numerical code to a key or to a combination of keys. When you turn your computer on, it is likely set by default to use the 'English (US)' keyboard driver, which associates ASCII codes to the keys with fonts like Times New Roman.
The contents of this site was developed by Benoît Farley at the National Research Council of Canada.

Inuktitut Informatique

Le projet UQAILAUT

Polices archaïques Inuktitut

ProSyl, Nunacom et AiPaiNunavik

Téléchargez les polices ProSyl et Nunacom

Pour taper des caractères syllabiques inuktitut avec les polices archaïques non-Unicode ProSyl, Nunacom et AiPaiNunavik dans une application comme MS Word, vous n'avez qu'à sélectionner la police (pour l'entrée de caractères dans des pages web, vous n'avez pas à le faire, votre navigateur s'en chargera). Il ne vous reste ensuite qu'à taper les caractères en vous rapportant à la configuration du clavier pour la police sélectionnée. La configuration du clavier1 pour une police donnée indique quelles touches sont associées à quels caractères.  Par exemple, le caractère (tu) dans les trois polices est associé à la touche du G; lorsqu'on tape sur cette touche alors que l'une de ces polices est en vigueur, on obtient le caractère au lieu de G.

ProSyl et Nunacom

Pour ces deux polices, on n'a pas besoin d'un pilote de clavier2 particulier; on utilise le même pilote de clavier que les polices régulières comme Times New Roman. Par exemple, en ProSyl, le code du caractère est la combinaison des codes ASCII des deux caractères ` et t qu'il faut taper successivement pour l'obtenir, soit 0x60 0x74. Tous les caractères syllabiques en ProSyl et en Nunacom sont ainsi accessibles avec le clavier régulier.

Les configurations de clavier pour ProSyl et Nunacom sont très semblables entre elles (et très semblables aussi aux niveaux 1 et 2 de la configuration de clavier inuktitut Unicode).  La plupart des caractères syllabiques de base sont associés aux mêmes touches pour les deux polices.  Les différences se situent surtout au niveau des signes de ponctuation et des caractères syllabiques à voyelle longue.  Par exemple, pour obtenir le caractère  en ProSyl, on doit taper les touches ` et W, alors qu'en Nunacom, on doit taper | et W.  Bien sûr, on peut utiliser n'importe quelle "touche de point" (comme le ` ou le |) avec n'importe quel caractère syllabique à voyelle brève, mais la position du point ne sera pas optimale.

Les deux figures suivantes montrent la configuration du clavier pour les deux polices ProSyl et Nunacom respectivement. Les figures indiquent quels caractères de point (dot) doivent être utilisés avec quels caractères de syllabes courtes pour obtenir les syllabes longues.

Figure 1. Configuration de clavier Inuktitut - ProSyl

Figure 2. Configuration de clavier Inuktitut - Nunacom

AiPaiNunavik

Avec AiPaiNunavik, on a besoin d'un pilote de clavier2 particulier, Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai), pour définir quels codes associer aux touches et aux combinaisons de touches. Par exemple, pour obtenir le même caractère en AiPaiNunavik, il faut presser la touche Alt et en la tenant pressée, taper t. Cette combinaison de touches génère le code 0x86. Sans ce pilote de clavier spécial, le code généré est 0xFE, qui ne correspond à aucun caractère en AiPaiNunavik. 

Pilote de clavier Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai) pour Windows

  1. Télécharger ce fichier: nunaviksetup.zip

    Ce fichier zip contient le fichier nunaviksetup.exe qui prépare le système Windows 95, 98, NT4, 2000 ou XP pour l'installation de deux pilotes de clavier Inuttitut-Nunavik, l'un pour Unicode, l'autre pour AiPaiTai, ainsi que plusieurs polices avec les caractères AiPaiTai. Lorsque vous dézipperez ce fichier zip pour en extraire nunaviksetup.exe, placez ce dernier dans n'importe quel répertoire de votre choix et gardez ce nom de répertoire en mémoire car vous en aurez bientôt besoin.

  2. Installer les polices et les pilotes de clavier

    • Exécuter nunaviksetup.exe

      Ce fichier exécutable prépare votre ordinateur pour l'installation du clavier, qui sera faite à l'aide du panneau de contrôle régulier.

    • Ajouter le nouveau clavier Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai)
      • Ouvrez le panneau de contrôle Keyboard (Start/Settings/Control Panel)
      • Allez à "Input locales tab"
      • Cliquez sur "Add"...
      • Choisissez une langue: - 'Norvégien' est un bon choix car ses deux premières lettres, NO, sont très semblables à NU (de Nunavik). Assurez-vous de ne pas activer "Use default properties for this input locale"
      • Cliquez sur OK
      • Dans la fenêtre de dialogue qui apparaît, choisissez la configuration de clavier "Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai)". (si celle-ci n'apparaît pas, il faudra peut-être rebooter et revenir à cette étape)
      • Cliquez sur OK pour sortir du panneau de contrôle.

  3. Activer le clavier Inuttitut-Nunavik (AiPai)

    Dans la boîte d'icônes en bas à droite de votre écran, on trouve l'icône du pilote de clavier actif. En cliquant sur cet icône, on obtient la liste des pilotes de clavier installés. Sélectionnez NO.

         

    Vous êtes au premier niveau (cf. regular dans la figure ci-dessous).  Les touches Shift, Alt, Alt+Shift vous donnent accès à 3 niveaux additionnels.



Figure 3. Configuration de clavier Inuktitut - AiPaiNunavik

1 Configuration de clavier: une configuration de clavier est un plan qui indique quel caractère, dans une police de caractères donnée, on obtient lorsqu'on tape sur une touche ou sur une combinaison de touches.

2 Pilote de clavier: un pilote de clavier est un logiciel qui associe un code numérique à une touche ou à une combinaison de touches lorsque quelqu'un tape sur le clavier. Lorsque vous ouvrez votre ordinateur, il y a de fortes chances que le pilote de clavier par défaut soit le pilote "Anglais (États-Unis)" qui associe les codes ASCII aux touches avec les polices comme Times New Roman.
Le contenu de ce site a été développé par Benoît Farley au Conseil national de recherches du Canada.