Inuktitut Computing

The UQAILAUT Project

Inuktitut Fonts



Unicode fonts     [Legacy fonts]

Unicode is a standard that assigns a unique numerical 16-bit code to each character of all the known languages of the world and to every sign (punctuation, mathematical, phonetic, etc.) that humans use in their writing. Several Unicode fonts containing all those characters and signs have been created. But often, Unicode fonts contain the codes of a subset of the Unicode table to answer the needs of a given language. For example, the greek letter  is assigned the Unicode code 926. Any Unicode font that contains this code will display it as that greek letter and nothing else (although its shape is likely to have small differences from one font to another, of course).

There exist several Unicode fonts that contain the Canadian Inuktitut Syllabary. One of them, Pigiarniq, has become very popular. All, except Code2000 and Everson Mono which are shareware, are free to download and use.

If you do not have installed on your computer the specific Unicode font for Inuktitut that is specified in an Internet page (let's say Pigiarniq), but you have other Unicode fonts for Inuktitut and your browser is set to use any of them for the Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics (let's say Uqammaq), you will still be able to see the characters correctly (in Uqammaq), even though their shapes are not the ones intended by the page's author (in Pigiarniq).


Unselect all | Show selected fonts
Show the Unicode and Legacy tables side by side
Unicode
Font
12 point 24 point Info/
Download
Aboriginal Sans
Aboriginal Serif
Aiju
AiPaiNutaaq

Ballymun RO

BJCree UNI

CBSUCAS


Code2000
Euphemia UCAS
Everson Mono Unicode
Kayases


Kisiska


Masinahikan


NunacomU

OskiBlackfoot
OskiDakelh
OskiEast

OskiWest
Pigiarniq
Pigiarniq Heavy
Pigiarniq Light
Rotinohnsonni Sans


Uqammaq
Uqammaq Heavy
Uqammaq Light
Unselect all | Show selected fonts
Show the Unicode and Legacy tables side by side


Legacy fonts     [Unicode fonts]

Characters are assigned to numerical codes represented by bytes. Originally, characters were represented by 1 byte with only the 7 lowest bits, allowing for 128 'positions'. The 7-bit table was defined through the ASCII standard: its 1-byte 7-bit codes were assigned to hold for the digits from 0 to 9, the punctuation marks and the letters used in the English language. Only the last 96 positions were used, the first 32 being reserved for controls such as new line, tab, etc. Because those 96 characters are not sufficient to write the characters used by the other European languages using latin-based characters, the ASCII table was extended by using the 8th bit of the byte, and the additional 128 codes were assigned to those characters through another standard. Unfortunately, that was not yet sufficient to represent the characters of languages using other alphabets like Greek, Russian, Inuktitut, etc., but the 8-bit byte was all there was at the time to represent a character (this was before the advent of Unicode). So the standards were put aside and the codes were reassigned to those 'foreign' characters. For example, the code 88 assigned by the ASCII standard to the latin letter 'X' is reassigned to the greek character  in the font SIL Greek.

The following Inuktitut fonts are such fonts where the codes have been reassigned to Inuktitut syllabic characters. Unfortunately, they do not all assign the same codes to the characters, so in order to see correctly a page coded with a certain font, you absolutely must have that font installed on your computer.  Using any other font will likely result in garbled incomprehensible text.


Unselect all | Show selected fonts
Show the Unicode and Legacy tables side by side
Legacy
Font
# of bits 12 point 24 point Info/
Download
Nunacom 7
ProSyl 7
Tunngavik 8
AiPaiNunavik 8
Old Syl 7
AujaqSyl 7
Aujaq2 8
Emi Inuktitut 8
Naamajut 8
 

Notes:

  1. Tunngavik is always associated with ProSyl. The codes up to 127 (0x7F) are assigned the same characters, with exactly the same appearance. But Tunngavik is an 8-bit font and has a number of codes in the range 128 to 255 (0x80 to 0xFF) assigned to the long-vowel syllabic characters which are taken care of by non-advancing 'dot' codes in 7-bit ProSyl. Note that Tunngavik does have those non-advancing dot codes too, so if one stays with codes under 128, those two fonts are interchangeable. Tunngavik is not very much used.
  2. Old Syl has the basic (short-vowel) syllabic characters assigned to the same codes as ProSyl, but has only 2 dot codes, and the punctuation signs are assigned to different codes.
  3. AiPaiNunavik is quite different than the other legacy fonts in its code assignments.  It is also the only one to contain the syllabic characters of the 'ai' series.  

The contents of this site was developed by Benoît Farley at the National Research Council of Canada.

Inuktitut Informatique

Le projet UQAILAUT

Polices de caractères Inuktitut



Polices Unicode     [Polices historiques]

Unicode est un standard qui assigne un code numérique unique de 16 bits à chaque caractère de toutes les langues du monde et à chaque signe (ponctuation, mathématique, phonétique, etc.) que les humains utilisent en écriture. Plusieurs polices de caractères Unicode ont été créées qui contiennent tous ces caractères et signes. Mais le plus souvent, les polices Unicode contiennent les codes d'un sous-ensemble de la table Unicode pour répondre aux besoins d'une langue donnée.  Par exemple, la lettre grecque est assignée au code Unicode 926. Toute police Unicode contenant ce code l'affichera comme cette lettre grecque et rien d'autre (bien que sa forme sera fort probablement différente d'une police à une autre).

Il existe plusieurs polices Unicode contenant le Syllabaire Aborigène Canadien. L'une d'elles, Pigiarniq, est devenue très populaire. Toutes sont gratuites et peuvent être téléchargées et utilisées librement, à l'exception de Code2000 et Everson Mono qui sont des 'shareware'.

Si la police Unicode pour Inuktitut spécifiée dans une page Internet (disons Pigiarniq) n'est pas déjà installée sur votre ordinateur, mais que vous avez d'autres polices Unicode pour Inuktitut et vous avez indiqué à votre navigateur quelle police utiliser pour le Syllabaire Aborigène Canadien (disons Uqammaq), les caractères syllabiques de cette page seront tout de même affichés correctement (en Uqammaq), même si leur forme est différente de celle envisagée par l'auteur de la page.


Désélectionner tout | Afficher les polices sélectionnées
Afficher les tables Unicode et historique côte à côte
Police
Unicode
12 point 24 point Info/
Télécharger
Aboriginal Sans
Aboriginal Serif
Aiju
AiPaiNutaaq

Ballymun RO

BJCree UNI

CBSUCAS


Code2000
Euphemia UCAS
Everson Mono Unicode
Kayases


Kisiska


Masinahikan


NunacomU

OskiBlackfoot
OskiDakelh
OskiEast

OskiWest
Pigiarniq
Pigiarniq Heavy
Pigiarniq Light
Rotinohnsonni Sans


Uqammaq
Uqammaq Heavy
Uqammaq Light
Désélectionner tout | Afficher les polices sélectionnées
Afficher les tables Unicode et historique côte à côte



Polices historiques     [Polices Unicode]

Les caractères sont assignés à des codes numériques représentés par des octets. À l'origine, les caractères étaient représentés par 1 octet dont on n'utilisait que les 7 bits les plus bas, accommodant ainsi 128 'positions'.  Le standard ASCII (table à 7 bits) a ainsi été défini: les 32 premières positions ont été réservées pour les contrôles comme le retour de chariot, la tabulation, etc.  Les 96 positions restantes ont été assignées aux chiffres, aux caractères et à la ponctuation usuelle de la langue anglaise.  Comme ces 96 caractères ne suffisent pas à noter les caractères des autres langues européennes utilisant un alphabet basé sur l'alphabet latin, la table ASCII a été étendue par l'utilisation du 8ème bit de l'octet, rendant ainsi disponibles 128 codes supplémentaires auxquels on a assigné à l'aide d'un autre standard les caractères manquants.  Malheureusement, cela n'était toujours pas suffisant pour noter les caractères de langues qui utilisent un autre alphabet, comme le grec, le russe, l'inuktitut, etc., mais à l'époque on ne pouvait représenter les caractères qu'avec un seul octet (c'était avant l'avènement d'Unicode), alors on a mis de côté les standards, et on a réassigné les codes à ces caractères 'étrangers'.  Par exemple, le code 88, assigné par ASCII à la lettre latine 'X', a été réassigné au caractère grec  dans la police SIL Greek.

Dans les polices de caractères suivantes, on a ainsi réassigné les codes aux caractères syllabiques de l'Inuktitut.  Malheureusement, d'une police à l'autre, les codes ne sont pas réassignés aux mêmes caractères, si bien que pour voir correctement une page codée avec une police particulière, cette police doit absolument être installée sur votre ordinateur.  L'utilisation d'une autre police rendra le texte incompréhensible.


Désélectionner tout | Afficher les polices sélectionnées
Afficher les tables Unicode et historique côte à côte
Police
historique
# of bits 12 point 24 point Info/
Télécharger
Nunacom 7
ProSyl 7
Tunngavik 8
AiPaiNunavik 8
Old Syl 7
AujaqSyl 7
Aujaq2 8
Emi Inuktitut 8
Naamajut 8
Notes:
  1. Tunngavik est pratiquement toujours spécifiée dans les documents en parallèle avec ProSyl. Les codes jusqu'à 127 (0x7F) sont assignés aux mêmes caractères, et ceux-ci ont exactement la même forme dans les deux polices. Mais Tunngavik est une police à 8 bits, où un certain nombre de codes entre 128 et 255 (0x80 et 0xFF) ont été assignés aux caractères syllabiques à voyelle longue, pour éviter l'utilisation de codes de points comme le fait ProSyl. Il est à noter toutefois que Tunngavik possède aussi ces codes de point, si bien que pour les codes sous 128, les deux polices sont identiques. L'usage de Tunngavik n'est pas très répandu.
  2. Dans Old Syl, les caractères syllabiques de base à voyelle brève sont assignés aux mêmes codes que ProSyl, mais on n'y trouve que 2 codes de points, et les signes de ponctuation sont assignés à des codes différents.
  3. AiPaiNunavik est très différent des autres polices quant à l'assignation des codes. Elle est aussi la seule police à contenir les caractères syllabiques de la série 'ai'.
Le contenu de ce site a été développé par Benoît Farley au Conseil national de recherches du Canada.