Inuktitut Computing

The UQAILAUT Project

Inuktitut Fonts and Keyboard Drivers

Display of Inuktitut syllabic characters

Inuktitut syllabic characters can be displayed with Unicode fonts and with so-called Legacy fonts. Unicode is an encoding system whereby every character or glyph of every language in the world is assigned a unique numerical code. Unicode fonts do not all contain all Unicode codes, but generally, Unicode fonts for Inuktitut can also display roman characters. As for Legacy fonts, which are 7-bit or 8-bit fonts, they were developed before Unicode and were the only way at the time to display syllabics. In Legacy fonts, the 7-bit ascii codes or 8-bit Latin-1 codes, depending on the font, are reassigned from roman characters to Inuktitut syllabic characters. The most popular Legacy fonts for Inuktitut are Nunacom and ProSyl, mostly used in Nunavut. There are also AiPaiNuna and AiPaiNunavik used in Nunavik.

Get Unicode and Legacy Inuktitut fonts.

IMPORTANT NOTICE regarding BROWSERS  :

In general, authors of documents specify which character font should be used to display the text. When it is not specified, and the browser does not know which font to use, it will display small empty rectangles in place of characters. Fortunately, with most browsers, it is possible to define a DEFAULT FONT, to be used when the font is not determined specifically. For Unicode Inuktitut, the browser must be told which font to use to display the characters of the "canadian syllabary":

Internet Explorer :

Click on Tools, Internet Options and Fonts ; for Language script, select Canadian Syllabary and in the list of available fonts, select a font, for example: Pigiarniq.

Firefox :

Click on Tools and Options...; click on the tab Content; in the box Fonts and colors , click on Advanced...; for Font for , select Canadian Unified Syllabary and specify the fonts as required among the selection offered to you.

Input of Inuktitut syllabic characters

Input of Inuktitut syllabics at the keyboard can be done in Unicode or with a Legacy font.

To input Unicode characters, your computer must be using a particular keyboard driver, in order to assign the proper Unicode codes with the keys of the keyboard. That is, for Unicode input, the keys are reassigned new codes corresponding to new glyphs. For example, when the 'g' key is pressed down, the Inuktitut keyboard driver will send to the current application the Unicode code 5200 assigned to the Inuktitut syllabic character . By comparaison, the default keyboard driver of the computer would send the ascii code 103 that is assigned to the roman letter 'g'.

Get the Unicode keyboard driver, and instructions on how to install it and do input in Unicode.

To input inuktitut characters using a Legacy font, you do not need a particular inuktitut keyboard driver; the default keyboard driver of the computer is used. For Legacy font input, the keys are reassigned new glyphs through the fonts, but the codes remain the same.  For example, with the font Nunacom, the same character is obtained by pressing the same key 'g', but the code received is that of the 'g' key, 103.

Get information about input with Legacy fonts.
The contents of this site was developed by Benoît Farley at the National Research Council of Canada.

Inuktitut Informatique

Le projet UQAILAUT

Polices et pilotes de clavier inuktitut

Affichage des caractères syllabiques inuktitut

Les caractères syllabiques inuktitut peuvent être affichés avec des polices de caractères Unicode et avec des polices de caractères dites archaïques. Unicode est un système de codage dans lequel un code numérique unique est assigné à chaque caractère ou glyphe de chaque langue du monde. Les polices Unicode ne contiennent pas toutes l'ensemble complet des codes Unicode, mais généralement, les polices Unicode pour l'inuktitut peuvent aussi afficher les caractères de l'alphabet latin. Quant aux polices archaïques, qui sont à 7 ou à 8 bits, elles ont été développées avant l'avènement d'Unicode et elles étaient à l'époque le seul moyen d'afficher des caractères syllabiques. Dans ces polices, les codes ascii à 7 bits ou les codes à 8 bits du standard Latin-1, selon la police, sont réassignés aux caractères syllabiques inuktitut au lieu des caractères de l'alphabet latin. Les polices archaïques inuktitut les plus populaires sont Nunacom et ProSyl, utilisées surtout au Nunavut. Il y a aussi les polices AiPaiNuna et AiPaiNunavik utilisées au Nunavik.

Obtenez les polices inuktitut Unicode et archaïques.

NOTE IMPORTANTE en rapport avec les NAVIGATEURS :

Généralement, les auteurs des documents spécifient la police de caractères à utiliser pour afficher le texte, mais il arrive que ce ne soit pas le cas. Faute de savoir quelle police utiliser, les navigateurs afficheront souvent des petits rectangles vides à la place des caractères. Heureusement, la majorité des navigateurs permettent de définir une POLICE PAR DÉFAUT, à utiliser lorsque la police n'est pas spécifiquement déterminée. Pour l'inuktitut en Unicode, il faut dire au navigateur quelle police utiliser pour les caractères du « syllabaire canadien » :

Internet Explorer :

Cliquez sur Outils, Options Internet et Polices ; pour Language script, sélectionnez Syllabaire canadien et dans la liste des polices disponibles qui vous est présentée, sélectionnez une police, par exemple Pigiarniq.

Firefox :

Cliquez sur Outils et Options... ; cliquez sur l'onglet Contenu ; dans la case Polices et couleurs, cliquez sur Avancé... ; pour Police pour, sélectionnez Syllabaire canadien unifié et spécifiez tel que demandé les polices en sélectionnant parmi les choix offerts une police inuktitut.

Entrée au clavier des caractères syllabiques inuktitut

Les caractères syllabiques inuktitut peuvent aussi être entrés au clavier en Unicode ou avec une police archaïque.

L'entrée au clavier de caractères inuktitut Unicode nécessite l'utilisation par votre ordinateur d'un pilote de clavier particulier, qui assigne les codes Unicode des caractères syllabiques inuktitut aux touches du clavier. C'est-à-dire que pour l'entrée en Unicode, de nouveaux codes (correspondant à de nouveaux glyphes) sont assignés aux touches. Par exemple, lorsque la touche 'g' est pressée, le pilote de clavier inuktitut envoie à l'application en cours le code Unicode 5200 assigné au caractère syllabique inuktitut . Par comparaison, le pilote de clavier par défaut de l'ordinateur envoie plutôt le code 103 assigné à la lettre latine 'g'.

Obtenez le pilote de clavier Unicode et les instructions pour son installation et pour l'entrée en Unicode.

Pour entrer des caractères syllabiques inuktitut avec une police archaïque, on n'a pas besoin de pilote de clavier particulier; on utilise le pilote de clavier par défaut, c'est-à-dire que les touches gardent les mêmes codes. Pour l'entrée avec une police archaïque, ce sont plutôt de nouveaux glyphes qui sont assignés aux codes par les polices. Par exemple, avec Nunacom, le même caractère est obtenu en tapant sur la même touche 'g', mais c'est le code 103 de la lettre latine 'g' qui est envoyé par le clavier.

Obtenez l'information sur l'entrée avec les polices archaïques.
Le contenu de ce site a été développé par Benoît Farley au Conseil national de recherches du Canada.