Inuktitut Computing

The UQAILAUT Project

Inuktitut Morphological Analyzer

The NRC’s Inuktitut Morphological Analyser is a Java program developed in the Interactive Information Group of the Institute for Information Technology (IIT) of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC), which decomposes an Inuktitut word into its parts (also called morphemes), that is, its root, its internal suffixes, and its grammatical ending. The lexical information about the morphemes consists of over 2000 roots, several hundred lexicalized words (sort of fixed complex stems combining a root and one or two suffixes), over 330 suffixes, over 300 noun endings and 1200 verb endings placed in a linguistic data base that we have created. Most of this lexical information comes from the works by Ken Harper, Alex Spalding, Lucien Schneider, Mick Mallon, and Louis-Jacques Dorais.  Please refer to this bibliography page for a detailed list of our linguistic references.  A number of phonological rules dealing with double consonants (kt > tt, for example) in different dialects have been incorporated.  The dialects recognized by the morphological analyser are basically those of Aivilik, Kivalliq, North and South Baffin, and Arctic Quebec.  Schneider’s law has been incorporated into the morphological analyser in order to analyse correctly words from Nunavik (Arctic Quebec) and Nunatsiavut (Labrador).

This first version of the morphological analyser can successfully decompose over 95% of the most frequent words found in the Nunavut’s Hansard and has about the same rate of success with words in Inuktitut Web pages.  We are actively working at increasing the coverage of the analyser with the addition of missing roots and suffixes, morpho-phonological behaviours of certain suffixes, and phonological rules. 

The decompositions returned by the analyser for any given word typically include the right decomposition at or near the top of the list, and a number of other decompositions which would not normally be considered.  This is due to several factors, like lexical ambiguity between different roots or suffixes or endings with the same form and behaviour, or missing constraints on what can or must follow or precede a given root, suffix or ending.  Right now, such constraints are not yet fully implemented. We are planning to implement them soon, but the priority is to increase the success rate of the analyser.

Download a Power Point presentation about the Inuktitut Morphological Analyser given in Iqaluit in February 2005.

Go to the Web application of the Inuktitut Morphological Analyser

New! The Inuktitut Morphological Analyser is now available in compiled code version.

Inuktitut Word Definition

Inuktitut Word Definition is an application of the Inuktitut Morphological Analyser that will get you the decomposition of an Inuktitut word that you have selected in a Web page. This application is accessible through a LINK* that has to be placed on the LINK BAR of your browser.

* The morphological analyzer is a Java program that cannot run on this server. This section on the "Inuktitut Word Definition" application has been left in this page to describe what was done, but the link 'Inuktitut Word Definition' to the application mentioned below has been removed. Nevertheless the morphological analyzer is available for download. See above.

Example screen-shot:


Demo

For you to get an idea of what this application can do, we have created a demo page with a selection of Inuktitut words that you can click directly to get their decompositions without having to install the link onto your browser.

Syllabic characters

Such that the Inuktitut syllabic characters can be displayed correctly, you will need an Inuktitut syllabic Unicode font. If you do not have one already installed on your computer, you can get one at Inuktitut fonts.

Disclaimer:

This application uses a Java HTML parser to determine whether the selected word is displayed with a 7-bit font like Nunacom or Prosyl.  Unfortunately, this parser is not very forgiving, and for that reason, when the page containing the selected word contains unorthodox HTML coding, it will not be able to determine the font properly.  This will result in the impossibility of decomposing the selected word.

The contents of this site was developed by Benoît Farley at the National Research Council of Canada.

Inuktitut Informatique

Le projet UQAILAUT

Analyseur morphologique inuktitut

L'analyseur morphologique de l'inuktitut du CNRC est un programme Java développé dans le Groupe d'information interactive de l'Institut de technologie de l'information (ITI) du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), qui décompose un mot Inuktitut en ses  morphèmes, c'est-à-dire, sa racine, ses suffixes et sa terminaison grammaticale. L'information lexicale à la base de l'analyseur morphologique consiste de quelque 2000 racines, plusieurs centaines de mots lexicalisés (sorte de radicaux complexes fixes combinant une racine et un ou deux suffixes), plus de 330 suffixes, 300 terminaisons nominales et 1200 terminaisons verbales contenus dans une base de données que nous avons créée. La majeure partie de cette information lexicale provient des ouvrages de Ken Harper, Alex Spalding, Lucien Schneider, Mick Mallon, et Louis-Jacques Dorais. Veuillez vous référer à cette bibliographie pour une liste complète de nos références linguistiques. Les règles phonologiques des divers dialectes sur les groupes de consonnes (kt > tt, par exemple) ont été incorporées. Les dialectes reconnus par notre analyseur sont ceux d'Aivilik, Kivalliq, la Terre de Baffin du nord et du sud, et le nord du Québec. La loi de Schneider, qui s'applique au nord du Québec, a aussi été incorporée. La version actuelle de l'analyseur morphologique de l'inuktitut peut décomposer avec succès plus de 95% des mots les plus fréquents trouvés dans les Hansard du Nunavut et dans les pages inuktitut de l'internet. Nous continuons à travailler activement à augmenter les performances de l'analyseur morphologique de l'inuktitut par l'addition de racines et d'suffixes et d'informations pertinentes sur ces morphèmes.

L'analyseur peut retourner plus d'une décompositions pour un mot donné; typiquement, la bonne décomposition se trouve parmi les premières au début de la liste, souvent en première position. Il arrive qu'un certain nombre de décompositions retournées par l'analyseur ne devraient normalement pas l'être. Ceci est dû à plusieurs facteurs dont l'ambiguïté lexicale entre certains morphèmes de même forme et de même comportement morphophonologique, l'absence de contraintes sur ce qui peut ou doit suivre ou précéder certains morphèmes, et l'absence de certains morphèmes.

Aller à une application Web de l'Analyseur Morphologique Inuktitut

Téléchargez une présentation Power Point sur l'Analyseur Morphologique Inuktitut faite à Iqaluit en février 2005.

Nouveau ! L'analyseur morphologique Inuktitut est maintenant disponible en version programmatique.

Définition de mot Inuktitut d'une page Web

Définition de mot Inuktitut est une application de l'Analyseur Morphologique Inuktitut qui retourne la décomposition d'un mot Inuktitut sélectionné dans une page internet. Cette application est accessible par un LIEN* qui doit être placé sur la BARRE DE LIENS de votre navigateur.

* L'analyseur morphologique est un programme Java qui ne peut pas être exécuté sur ce serveur. Cette section sur l'application « Définition de mot Inuktitut » a été laissée dans cette page pour décrire ce qui a été fait, mais le lien ‘Définition de mot Inuktitut’ au programme exécutable mentionné plus bas a été supprimé. L'analyseur morphologique est toutefois disponible pour téléchargement. Voir ci-dessus.

* Définitions en français: tous les mécanismes sont en place pour offrir les définitions en français. Cependant, étant donnés la nature "de recherche" du projet et le manque de temps et de ressources, les versions françaises des sens des racines n'ont pas pu toutes encore être entrées dans la base de données. Par conséquent, le cas échéant, le mot null apparaîtra dans la case 'Signification' de la racine.

Exemple d'un cliché d'écran:


Démo

Pour que vous puissiez avoir une idée de ce que fait cette application, nous avons  préparé une page de démonstration avec une sélection de mots inuktitut sur lesquels on peut cliquer directement pour obtenir leur décomposition sans devoir installer le lien sur votre navigateur.

Caractères syllabiques

De façon à ce que les caractères syllabiques Inuktitut puissent être affichés correctement, vous aurez besoin d'une police de caractères syllabiques Inuktitut Unicode. Si vous n'en avez pas dans votre ordinateur, vous pouvez en obtenir une à polices Inuktitut.

Avertissement:

Cette application utilise un parseur HTML Java pour déterminer la police de caractères utilisée pour afficher le texte inuktitut syllabique dans une page internet. Malheureusement, ce parseur ne pardonne pas facilement et pour cette raison, lorsque le codage HTML d'une page n'est pas orthodoxe, il pourrait ne pas être capable de déterminer quelle police de caractères a été utilisée, ce qui résulterait en l'incapacité de décomposer le mot sélectionné.

Le contenu de ce site a été développé par Benoît Farley au Conseil national de recherches du Canada.